Justice David Wellington Chew Award

Nomination Forms

Established in 2002, the Justice David Wellington Chew Award honors those individuals whose selfless contributions benefit the Asian-Pacific American legal

 community of Texas. The award was named after Justice Chew, who currently presides as Chief Justice of the Eighth Court of Appeals. APIS is proud to honor Justice Chew for his pioneering achievements as one of the first Asian-Pacific Americans in the Texas judiciary. 
Each of the past recipients listed below epitomize Justice Chew's passion and commitment towards helping and advancing Asian-Pacific interests in Texas and throughout the nation.

The Justice David Wellington Chew Award was presented at the 2016 Annual Conference. 
 Justice David Wellington ChewBest Under 40Champion of DiversityOutstanding MentorAffiliate of the YearPro Bono
2017Kelly Chen
Alison Chen
Chris Kang
Chad Anson Sean T. Hamada SABA Dallas Ketan Kharod
2016Albert Lin, Husch Blackwell LLP, Austin Monika Sing Sanford
Gene Wu
Jessica Vu
Anna Sankaran Sakina Rasheed Houston AABA
2015Albert Tan, Haynes and Boone, LLP Dallas,
2014Toni Nguyen, Luminex Corp.
Austin, Texas
2013Michele Wong Krause, The Wong Krause
Law Firm
Dallas, Texas
2012Gordon Quan, FosterQuan, LLP (now with
Quan Law Group)
Houston, Texas
2011Hon. Herbert Gee
Houston, Texas
2010James Ho, Gibson Dunn
Dallas, Texas
2009Albert Li, Associate Counsel
Zimmer, Inc.
Austin, Texas
2008Harry Gee, Harry Gee
Principal, Harry Gee, Jr. & Associates
Houston, Texas
2007Kathleen Wu, Partner, Andrews Kurth
Dallas, Texas
2006Hon. Peter Sakai, Judge of the 225th
District Court
Bexar County, Texas
2005Hon. Karen Gren Johnson, Judge of the
95th District Court
Dallas County, Texas
2004Daniel David Hu, Deputy Chief, Civil
U.S. Attorney’s Office
(Southern District of Texas)
2003Hon. Brenda Rhoades, U.S. Bankruptcy
(Eastern District of Texas)